New Members Join Waterloo Community Foundation Board

We are welcoming six new members to our Board of Directors in 2023! One of our strengths is our locally focused Board. Board members have diverse backgrounds and experiences, but share ties to Waterloo. These individuals have uniquely contributed to our community and we know their knowledge, expertise, and love for our city will be assets to the Foundation and, ultimately, Waterloo!

The new Board members include:

Steve Carignan – Steve Carignan is celebrating his twenty-second year as Executive Director at the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center. He also serves as Associate Dean for Outreach and Special Programs for the College of Humanities Arts and Sciences at the University of Northern Iowa. Steve has worked with the Iowa Arts Commission and served on Boards for Boy Scouts (Winnebago Council), YMCA, Waterloo Arts and Culture Board, Iowa Performing Arts Network, Waterloo Rotary, and Iowa Public Radio.

Jane Lindaman – Jane Lindaman retired from her role as Superintendent of Waterloo Community Schools in 2022 after eight years in her position and 17 years with the district. She previously served as Bunger Middle School principal, Director of Learning and Results, and Associate Superintendent for Waterloo Community Schools. Jane currently serves on the Board of Directors for Grand JiVante Nursing Home and has a supporting role for Junior Achievement.

Tamera Phillips – Tamera Phillips has served as the Lincoln Elementary School principal since 2021. She joined Waterloo schools in 2019 after working as a teacher and instructional coach in Kansas and Missouri. Tamera is a Waterloo native and graduated from Graceland University. She holds master’s degrees in school leadership and teaching multidisciplinary studies from Webster University and Baker University, respectively.

John Richter – John Richter is a practicing attorney at Beecher Law Firm in the areas of business/corporate transactional law, estate planning, and nonprofit entities. He previously practiced at Best & Flanagan LLP, a private practice law firm in Minneapolis, and completed an internship with the Waterloo office of Iowa Legal Aid. He moved back to his hometown of Waterloo in 2020. John serves on the Executive Committee of the Black Hawk County Bar Association.

Bev Smith – Bev Smith is a Waterloo native and recently retired from the Waterloo Community School District where she served as the Associate Superintendent for Human Resources and Equity. She currently works with a search firm, GR Recruiting, and an educational research and training organization, West Wind Education Policy, Inc., to facilitate cultural competency training for local organizations. Bev has served on a number of state-level boards including the Iowa Board of Regents, the University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics, the Governor’s Education Roundtable, and the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners. She currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Waterloo Civil Service Commission, Henry B. Allen Foundation, Tri-County Head Start, and North End Cultural Center.

Dodie Young –Dodie Young works as Counsel for Littler Mendelson, a national Labor and Employment law firm, representing corporate clients in employment discrimination claims before administrative agencies. She previously worked for Littler Mendelson as an Associate in Chicago before moving to Waterloo in 2004. Dodie currently serves on the Board of Directors for Boys and Girls Clubs of the Cedar Valley and Exceptional Persons, Inc.

Waterloo Community Foundation Board President Lance Vanderloo praised the selection of these individuals for the Board of Directors. He says, “We welcome this group of new members and know their knowledge and expertise will be an asset to the Board. Each has contributed to Waterloo in a unique way and exemplifies a love and commitment to our community. These qualities are essential to the Foundation’s continued growth and success”.

Re-elected members of the Waterloo Community Foundation Board include:

Stacey Bentley

Bob Hellman

Theresa Hoffman

Sam Holden

Lori Johnson

Kent McCausland

Chuck Rowe

Troy Smith

Lance Vanderloo

Retiring members of the Board include founding members Tim Hurley, Wilfred (Mickye) Johnson, and Kathy McCoy, as well as members Anesa Kajtazovic and Sharina Sallis.

Leave a Comment